For anyone buying an LED faucet online
Measure the sink.
Check the faucet.
A light-up faucet is bought from a photo and a spec sheet. Enter your sink's measurements and the faucet's numbers, and see before you buy whether it fits your holes and counter, where the water lands, how much water it uses, which safety marks it is missing and whether its light will work at your water pressure.
Plan Pass $1.95 a month or $19.50 a year Free during preview what it buys
Before you shop
Five measurements, one tape measure.
The sink measurements the fit checks use. Each letter is a box on the Faucet Check; water pressure, minutes a day and your water price are optional extras.
- AFaucet holes
One, or three, in the sink or counter.
- BHole spread
Centre to centre between the outer two holes.
- CDeck thickness
Where the faucet mounts. Thick stone is the usual problem.
- DHole to drain
Faucet hole centre to drain centre, to compare with spout reach.
- ERim height
Vessel bowls only: the rim above the counter.
What the check answers
Three questions before you buy.
01
Will it fit?
Hole count and spread against single-hole, centerset and widespread mounts; deck thickness against the faucet's maximum; spout reach against your drain; outlet height against a vessel bowl's rim.
02
What will it use?
Rated flow against the US 2.2 gpm limit and EPA WaterSense's 1.5 gpm for bathroom faucets, and your yearly gallons and cost from your own minutes and water price.
03
Is it safe, and will it light?
NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 and lead-free marks, a UPC or cUPC listing, a listed plug-in adapter, and whether a water-powered light gets the pressure it needs. Each with its source.
Example check
One listing, read against one sink.
The inputs
3-hole bathroom sink, holes 4 in apart, 1.5 in deck, drain 5 in from the faucet hole. Single-hole waterfall faucet, no deck plate, max deck 1.25 in, 5 in spout reach, 1.8 gpm, water-powered light, lead-free and UPC listed, NSF 61 not stated.
The answer
2 problems to sort out before buying, and 2 things to check.
- Stop Open holes left
- Stop Counter too thick for the mounting
- Check NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 (drinking water contact): not stated
- Check Minimum pressure not compared
Worked out live by the same rules as the Faucet Check.
Sink Plan
Keep the whole remodel in one Sink Plan.
A private Sink Plan holds each sink's measurements and every faucet you are weighing up for it, each one checked, and prints an install sheet. No account and no email: you keep a private link.
- 1Add each sink with its measurements.
- 2Add the faucets you are weighing up for it, from their spec sheets.
- 3Print one install sheet to take to the store or the plumber.
Pricing
Free to check. $1.95 a month for up to 10 sinks.
Free
$0
No account. No card.
- Faucet Check: your sink against any faucet's spec sheet, as often as you like (nothing is stored)
- The buyer's guide with its sources
- A private Sink Plan with 1 sink and 2 faucets checked against it, plus its printable install sheet
Plan Pass
$1.95 a month
or $19.50 a year (two months free)
- Up to 10 sinks on one Sink Plan: every bathroom, the kitchen, the bar sink
- Up to 8 faucets checked against each sink, side by side
- One install sheet for the whole plan: every sink's measurements, the faucets and what to check
Free during preview: every Plan Pass feature is on for everyone and nothing is charged.
Lighted Faucets sells nothing but the Plan Pass. It has no shop, no affiliate links and no favourite brand. The one labelled ad at the foot of the page comes from AdEngine, WeldonPC's own small ad network (see Privacy).